Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In Chapter 3, the authors were discussing what it took to be a considered an engaged viewer. The comparison of appointment based and engagement based viewing was discussed.

“Under the appointment model, committed viewers arrange their lives to be at home at a certain time to watch their favorite programs. (p. 116)”

“Engagement based models places a premium on audiences willing to pursue content across multiple channels as viewers access television shows on their own schedules, thanks to videocassette recorders, DVRs, digital downloads,mobile video devices, and DVD boxed sets. (p. 116)”

These two breakdowns of the models really started to make me wonder: What type of viewer am I?

I like to watch TV. But to me there’s a difference of having the TV on, and actually watching a full episode of a show. As of late, I just use the TV as a source for background noise, but in high school, I admit to just mindlessly watching TV to pass the time.

I considered myself an appointment model viewer, but due to not having an “On-Demand” service on campus, I had to watch the show then and there; for example, I watch The Walking Dead, every Sunday at 9 PM. I never had to watch it later online because I would plan my Sundays around that specific timeline.

But when I did have an On-Demand service, I would catch up on all the other side shows I missed throughout the week on the weekends. As of college, I mostly watch Netflix when it comes to TV shows and their past seasons. That lead to the creation of binge-watching; when there’s new season of a show about to air, Netflix usually releases the previous season, allowing fans of the show to frantically catch up on many hours of a show within a matter of a week (or less).

But… will Netflix grow and destroy television all together? What do you think? Also: Check out this video on the battle!

